Social Media Reality Check

As we’ve all realized by now, social media is a pretty big deal among us. It has become an essential tool for businesses to keep up their brand and product presence. Social Media has officially revolutionized the industry. Every brand knows that without social media they’d be lost, because it’s the only way their audiences will listen, TV commercials and print ads are no longer the focus of Advertising and PR. Lon Safko calls this revolution, “A Fundamental Shift in Power” and states in his book that  “It’s a shift from pontification to two-way communication and it’s a shift about which we no longer control our corporate message. No longer does the consumer trust corporate messages. They don’t trust and don’t want to hear our commercials any longer. They want their information from people they know, have a relationship with, and share a bond with through trust.”

What has made social media so effective and impactful is that is a two-way communication. Social media is about building a relationship between the brand and the consumer. It’s about the consumer being heard and taken into account. That’s all it is, and this is why it’s become such a hype. We’re use to traditional advertising, which was a one-way communication, and that’s why it was ineffective.

The web has opened the doors for consumers to apply companies’ advertising on their own time, when they actually need to buy the product. As David Meerman Scott says “The Web has changed the rules. Today, organizations are communicating directly with buyers.”

The rules have changed and the way brands do marketing need to change also in order to be successful. Here are some of the new rules of Marketing and PR:

  •   You are what you publish.
  •  People want authenticity, not spin.
  •  People want participation, not propaganda.
  •  Instead of causing one-way interruption, marketing is about delivering content at just the precise moment your audience needs it.
  •   Marketers must shift their thinking from mainstream marketing to the masses to a strategy of reaching vast numbers of underserved audiences via the Web.
  •   PR is not about your boss seeing your company on TV. It’s about your buyers seeing your company on the Web.
  •    Marketing is not about your agency winning awards. It’s about your organization winning business.
  •     Companies must drive people into the purchasing process with great online content.
  •     Blogs, podcasts, e-books, news releases, and other forms of online content let organizations communicate directly with buyers in a form they appreciate.
  •     On the Web, the lines between marketing and PR have blurred.

So, we have to keep in mind that in order to succeed, we need to communicate and educate our consumers by following these new rules and forgetting about previous ones.

Now a little bit of my input…

If you ask me, social media means everything. I think people have yet to grasp how indispensable social media is, not only for businesses but for the everyday of society. To me, social media is an essential aspect in everyone’s lives, no matter if you were born in the 50’s or 2000’s. Social media is the two-way communication among people no matter the location. But the thing is, it doesn’t just stop there! It goes beyond people, social media allows you to have a relationship with a brand, a product, even Miley Cyrus’ hairstyle. Social media is limitless and has broken boundaries that no one would’ve ever imagined.

As graduation is getting closer and closer, I realize that I will be graduating in perfect timing because I’m witnessing this revolution as a student, not after. Although traditional media is still in fact alive and running, it doesn’t work for everyone like it use to. I’m lucky enough to see the ground breaks that social media is doing in the industry early enough for me to have a knowledge of it once I’m out there in the professional field. So, what’s the future of social media for me? Once again, EVERYTHING! I don’t want to make anyone think I can predict the future, but I know for a fact that this won’t stop here. The future is unknown but if there’s one thing we should all be expecting is the continuing growth of social media happen in front of our eyes.

Blogging is a whole new world for me, so please bear with me. As a new blogger, I’m hoping to see some outcomes and this is why I’ve set some personal goals. I’m not the biggest fan of writing, but I’m hoping this shows me something I hadn’t seen before. Here they are:

  1. Learn to love my writing
  2. Learn to write
  3. Work on my writing weaknesses, but also reward myself for my strengths
  4. Stay true to myself throughout all my posts; adding my personality.
  5. Anddddd display a positive, knowledgeable and professional image

Until next time,

Elisa Tactuk

Leave a Reply

